1706c9065ca47727af594308c8fd1b56.ppt
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Google & Online Marketing Seminar Helping You Build Your Online Presence Seth Meyerowitz Certified Google Business Trainer www. UBE-Inc. com - seminars@UBE-Inc. com - 516 -330 -3865
Show Happy Hound Video http: //www. youtube. com/watch? v=Wq. Hpm 7 OLWWY
Ad. Words 101 Find out more about Google‘s products at: www. google. com/services/smallbusiness
Agenda • Introduction to Ad. Words • How Google ranks ads • The importance of structure • How to choose the right keywords • How to write great ads • Q&A
Introduction to Ad. Words
In this section we’ll cover. . . • An introduction to Google Ad. Words • Common questions from new advertisers • The importance of setting goals • Where your ads can show: An explanation of the Google Ad Network • How to sign up
What is Google Ad. Words? • Ad. Words is Google’s advertising program § Advertisers select keywords; ads appear next to the search results on Google. com • Advertisers can also show ads on hundreds of thousands of websites § Ads are matched to Web pages relevant to advertisers’ keywords
The questions people ask Is Ad. Words appropriate for my small business? Which keywords should I use? How will I be charged? How do I get my ad in the #1 position? How do I write a great ad? Where will my ads appear? What questions do you have?
Before we begin. . . what are your goals? I want to open my email every morning and see at least 3 new orders. I’d like to get as many clicks as I can for less than $0. 80 per click. I want five quality leads a day for my sales team to call. I want to double my customer base. I’d like to increase sales by 15 percent. I want at least 40 visits to my website every day. I want an ROI of 250 percent on all sales coming from Ad. Words.
OK, now you know what you want Where do ads appear?
Google. com
The Search Partners
Target Users by Network & Device
The Google Display Network
Create an account www. google. com/services/smallbusiness
How Google Ranks Ads
In this section we’ll cover. . . • How the Ad. Words auction works • How Google calculates your place in the auction • What’s Max CPC? • How Quality Score is calculated • How all this affects what you pay for a click
How does Ad. Words work? Instant Auction A live auction is run for every search Ad Position = Quality x Your Bid Quality Factors: Clickthrough rate, keyword relevance, ad relevance and historical performance
Everyone wants to be in position #1? Is This Best? The position of each ad is determined using a ranking formula.
The magic ad ranking formula Ad Rank = Maximum Cost-Per-Click Bid (Max. CPC) x Quality Score The Bottom Line: If you have a great Quality Score, you can still show in a high position with a low bid
What is your Max CPC? • The maximum price you are prepared to pay for a click • Your ‘bid’ in the Ad. Words auction
What is Quality Score? • A measure of how relevant and useful your ads are. • Do your ads & keywords provide a good user experience? Which Is Best? POOR OK GREAT Note: The above example is for demonstration purposes only. It is not meant to indicate the actual quality score of the ads.
Quality Score measures user experience
How Google calculates Quality Score Clickthrough-Rate (CTR) Of the people who saw your ad, how many clicked on it? + Relevancy Do your keywords match your ads? Does the search query match your keyword? + Landing Page Quality Does your landing page provide a good user experience?
You can see your Quality Score for each keyword
The magic ranking formula - example Alison, Scott and Jon are all bidding on the keyword ‘zipline kits. ’ Based on their Max CPC and Quality Score, whose ad will show in first position? Ad Rank Alison Max CPC Quality Score Who Wins #1 Spot? 8 = $1. 00 x 8 2 nd Scott 10 = $1. 00 x 10 1 st Jon 7 = $2. 35 x 3 3 rd
How much do I actually pay? Your actual CPC is the Ad Rank of the advertiser below, divided by your Quality Score. Ad Rank Max CPC Quality Score Actual CPC Scott 10 = $1. 00 x 10 = (8/10) $. 80 Alison 8 = $1. 00 x 8 = (7/8) $. 88 Jon 7 = $2. 35 x 3 = minimum $min
So you’ll show in a higher position if. . . • Your Quality Score is at least 5/10 for each keyword • Your bids are competitive • Both!
The Importance of Structure
In this section we’ll cover. . . • The structure and limits of a typical Ad. Words account • Best practices for organizing your account
Ad. Words account structure Ad. Words Account Unique email address & password Billing information Campaign Daily budget Location/language targeting Distribution preference End date Ad Group Ad Group Keywords Ads Keywords Ads
The WRONG way to structure an Ad. Words account Ad. Words Account “Furniture” Campaign Furniture Ad Group The Best Furniture Great Selection, Made in USA Free Shipping, 5 Year Warranty. Plantation. Design. com leather sectional leather loveseat leather chair rugs patio furniture leather sofa dining room table lamp coffee table kitchen table floor lamp end table brass bed kids furniture lamp leather headboard living room furniture ottoman dresser bedroom furniture dining room table leather couch desk media console 25
A BETTER way to structure an account Ad. Words Account “Furniture” Campaign “Leather Sectionals” Ad Group “Leather Loveseats” Ad Group “Leather Chairs” Ad Group Leather Sectionals Leather Loveseats Leather Chairs Leather Sectionals Made in USA From $1, 999 With 5 Year Warranty plantationdesign. com/sectionals Free Delivery When You Buy Before Christmas. Order Yours Today! plantationdesign. com/loveseat Handcrafted Leather Chairs Make a Statement. View Catalog! plantationdesign. com/chairs buy leather sectional suite buy leather love seats buy handmade leather chair buy leather sectional suites buy leather loveseats buy handmade leather chairs leather sectional suites buy leather love seat handmade leather chairs leather sectional suite buy leather loveseat handmade leather chair buy leather sectional leather loveseats buy leather chairs buy leather sectional leather love seats buy leather chair leather sectional leather love seat leather chair leather sectionals leather loveseat leather chairs 26
Structuring your own Ad. Words account for success • Create one Ad Group for each product or service • Create one Ad Group with your brand/business name as keywords • Create additional Ad Groups for variations “B&B” vs. “Bed and Breakfast” For a Plumber emergency plumbing hot water repairs hot water installation Dishwasher installation bathroom renovations drain clearing Plumber nashville For a Sports Equipment Store Tents sleeping bags portable stoves Backpacks hiking boots lanterns swiss amy knives For a Bed & Breakfast bed & breakfast nashville b&b nashville cheap nashville hotel luxury bed & breakfast luxury b&b nashville inns
How to Choose the Right Keywords
In this section we’ll cover. . . • How to begin building your keyword list • How to apply the “Goldilocks” principle • Keywords match types • The Google Keyword Tool
Building a keyword list • Brainstorm business • Review website • Think like a customer • Focus on what differentiates • Include plural & singular versions • Include spelling mistakes & variations • Include product numbers & codes
Use the ‘Goldilocks principle’ to pick keywords • Add all relevant keyword variations: singular/plural and synonyms • Keyword combinations, accent marks (á, é, í, ó, ú, ñ, ü, etc. ) • Make keywords specific to your product or service vacation florida vacation rental 3 br vacation rental grayton beach tax preparation nashville tax preparation service nolensville rd store dvd storage faux leather storage for dvd box sets bags handmade leather bags handmade black croc leather handbags accounting cheap accounting software for petsitting biz Too General Just Right Too Specific
What happens if my keyword is too general? Example keyword ‘vacation’ -- your ad might show for: vacation rental The go-go’s vacation deals disney vacation club vacation ideas pictures from our vacation by lynne rae perkins vacations for kids vacations for singles vacations for veterans National lampoon’s european vacation permanent vacation lyrics vacation auctions vacation accrual policy Vacation agent magazine vacation air conditioning vacation anxiety General keywords = low clickthrough-rate = low Quality Score
Keyword matching options Match Type Broad “Phrase” [Exact] -Negative How keyword appears in Ad. Words: The ad will show when a searcher types: Caribbean Cruise All words containing this word or combination of words in any order is used as the query. Caribbean holiday Cruises Cruise holiday in Caribbean Cruise in Carribean “Caribbean Cruise” Keywords are typed in the exact order specified. Can have other words before and/or after. Cheap Caribbean Cruise deals Luxury Caribbean Cruise [Caribbean Cruise] Keywords must be only & exactly what the user types in Caribbean Cruise - Tom Ads will not appear when this search term is entered in the query Add will not show if someone types: Tom Cruise 32
Examples of negative keywords Service provider Vacation destination Frequently used -become -library -free -study -doctor -lyrics -class -vet -second hand -classes -hospital -used -course -schools -parts -license -coffee -repairs -training -cards -wholesale -jobs -history -pics -employment -jobs in -pictures -supplies -pictures -definition of -tools -news -history -price -weather -diy
The Google Keyword Tool: help finding keywords Enter your keyword Get additional keyword suggestions
How to Write Great Ads 35
In this section we’ll cover. . . • Ad text specifications • Tips for writing better ads
Ad text specifications Ad title (25 characters max, including spaces) Two description lines (35 characters max each, including spaces) Display URL (35 characters max, including spaces) Destination URL (1024 characters max, including spaces)
What is a good Ad. Words ad? A good ad: • Is relevant to the keywords in the ad group Gets a high clickthrough-rate (CTR) Effectively sells your product or service Stands out from your competitors Includes a call to action What doesn’t work Vague, irrelevant, unclear ads without useful information.
What doesn‘t work Vague, irrelevant, unclear ads without useful information. Ask yourself just 3 questions to help you write great ads!
1. What sets your business apart? Why would someone choose your business over a competitor? Examples: “We only sell products made in the USA” “We won an award in 2009” “We have a money back guarantee” “All our products are custom made” “We have 30 years experience” “We always show up on time” “Free shipping if you buy two” “We’re open 7 days a week” Sets You Apart 2. Can you describe your products or services? Describe specific or technical details of your products or services. Examples: “Made from recycled materials” “Evening classes available” “Battery lasts up to 8 hours” “ 24/7 onsite support” “From $16 per square foot” Useful Ads “On time or it’s free” 3. What is your call to action? After someone clicks on your ad and visits your website, what is it you want them to do next? Examples: “Call us to request a free quote” “Learn more about osteoporosis” “Download a 30 -day free trial” “Call us and order a pizza” “Sign up for our mailing list” “Request a call back” Call To Action
Put it all together for better ads
Link to the best landing page Always direct traffic to the most useful page on the site.
How to get to your goals – step by step Experiment! Try new ads and keywords to get the best to see which perform best. Track your results Measure! Have you achieved your goals? Repeat
A Quick Recap
After this session, you should know Where Ads Show How to Structure an Account Show ads on Google. com, the Search Partners, the Google Display Network. Structure your account for success with campaigns, Ad Groups and keywords. How to Select Keywords How To Write Ads Keyword match types, the “Goldilocks” principle, using the Google Keyword Tool. Ad text specifications, tips for writing more effective ads, calls to action.
You will need a Google account 10
Thank you! Find out more about Google‘s products at: www. google. com/services/smallbusiness Ad. Words Online Classroom: www. google. com/adwords/onlineclassroom Ad. Words Small Business Center: adwords. google. com/professionals/search Consultants https: //adwords. google. com/professionals/search You. Tube Google Business Channel http: //www. youtube. com/user/Google. Business
Some Specific Questions
Tracking Ad. Words With Analytics
Ad. Words & Analytics – Working Together!
Where Does My Traffic Come From?
Thank You… Questions?
Thank You For Attending! Google & Online Marketing Seminar Helping You Build Your Online Presence Seth Meyerowitz Certified Google Business Trainer www. UBE-Inc. com – seminars@UBE-Inc. com - 516 -330 -3865 Slides Are Available For Download www. long-island-website-design. com/seminar-resources password = june 14 seminar 123
1706c9065ca47727af594308c8fd1b56.ppt