Скачать презентацию Public Relations and Your Bottom Line A Review Скачать презентацию Public Relations and Your Bottom Line A Review

020ece81400932198eb709c32717da54.ppt

  • Количество слайдов: 18

Public Relations and Your Bottom Line: A Review of the ATA PR Initiative Chris Public Relations and Your Bottom Line: A Review of the ATA PR Initiative Chris Durban, ATA PR committee © 2007 American Translators Association Annual Conference ATC 1

Why public relations? Engaging in PR = Win/Win situation Good for the T&I profession Why public relations? Engaging in PR = Win/Win situation Good for the T&I profession n Good for your professional association n Good for your business n Sept. 20, 2007 ATC Annual Conference 2

Origins of the ATA PR effort Professionalism versus the “Poverty Cult” Sept. 20, 2007 Origins of the ATA PR effort Professionalism versus the “Poverty Cult” Sept. 20, 2007 ATC Annual Conference 3

Translation and the Media – Dee Myers in St. Louis Sept. 20, 2007 ATC Translation and the Media – Dee Myers in St. Louis Sept. 20, 2007 ATC Annual Conference 4

ATA Public Relations mission To promote the translation and interpreting professions to the general ATA Public Relations mission To promote the translation and interpreting professions to the general public, governmental and international organizations, educational institutions and commercial users of translation and interpreting services. Sept. 20, 2007 ATC Annual Conference 5

Our message Whether you are an official at the CIA, Dell Computer, or even Our message Whether you are an official at the CIA, Dell Computer, or even local government, translation and interpreting mistakes can be costly, or even disastrous. You must have a qualified, professional translator to get the job done right. Sept. 20, 2007 ATC Annual Conference 6

Our message You cannot risk getting it wrong. n Qualified translators are crucial to Our message You cannot risk getting it wrong. n Qualified translators are crucial to your mission. n The cost of poor translation is immense – whether in national security, business, law or healthcare. n Hire a professional translator – “Go Pro”. n Sept. 20, 2007 ATC Annual Conference 7

ATA national media outreach Sept. 20, 2007 ATC Annual Conference 8 ATA national media outreach Sept. 20, 2007 ATC Annual Conference 8

Components of the ATA PR initiative National media outreach n Client education – “Getting Components of the ATA PR initiative National media outreach n Client education – “Getting It Right” n School outreach n Pro bono projects at conferences n Leveraging the above for local media coverage n Sept. 20, 2007 ATC Annual Conference 9

Leveraging translation conferences for media attention n n St. Louis – Translation and the Leveraging translation conferences for media attention n n St. Louis – Translation and the Media (Dee Myers) Atlanta – Translators and Terrorism (9/11 as a turning point in our media coverage) Phoenix – Health Care and Interpreting and keynote address by Everette Jordan of the National Virtual Translation Center Salt Lake City – Translation Summit brought together government representatives, buyers and providers of T&I services, and educators San Francisco - ? ? ? Sept. 20, 2007 ATC Annual Conference 10

ATA past pro bono projects In conjunction with ATA’s annual conference, we perform pro ATA past pro bono projects In conjunction with ATA’s annual conference, we perform pro bono services for a non-profit organization based near the conference site. This often results in very positive local press coverage. n n n 2006 New Orleans Hurricane Preparedness Materials and Public Service Announcements 2005 Seattle Cancer Care Alliance 2003 Phoenix Child Help USA 2001 Los Angeles Starlight Foundation 2000 Orlando Everglades National Park 1999 St. Louis Scott Joplin House Sept. 20, 2007 ATC Annual Conference 11

School Outreach program Sept. 20, 2007 ATC Annual Conference 12 School Outreach program Sept. 20, 2007 ATC Annual Conference 12

School Outreach program www. atanet. org/ata_school/ Sept. 20, 2007 ATC Annual Conference 13 School Outreach program www. atanet. org/ata_school/ Sept. 20, 2007 ATC Annual Conference 13

Client education Sept. 20, 2007 ATC Annual Conference 14 Client education Sept. 20, 2007 ATC Annual Conference 14

Call to action! The more the public understands the complexity of what we do, Call to action! The more the public understands the complexity of what we do, the better our business n When it comes to PR, there’s plenty of work to do. n So, let’s get the word out! n Sept. 20, 2007 ATC Annual Conference 15

What does PR mean to you? n n PR – raising the profile of What does PR mean to you? n n PR – raising the profile of our industry. PR – educating the public about what we do. PR – cultivating fearless, two-way relationships with our clients and letting them know that quality translation makes a difference. PR – every one of us is an ambassador of our profession. Sept. 20, 2007 ATC Annual Conference 16

Why get involved in PR? n Antidote to globalizing, race-to-the-bottom translation environment. n Tangible Why get involved in PR? n Antidote to globalizing, race-to-the-bottom translation environment. n Tangible benefit to language professionals in educating the public about who we are and what we do. n By increasing the visibility of the T&I profession, you can increase the profitability of your own business. Sept. 20, 2007 ATC Annual Conference 17

Thank you! Questions, anybody? Sept. 20, 2007 ATC Annual Conference 18 Thank you! Questions, anybody? Sept. 20, 2007 ATC Annual Conference 18